First day of school

My son went back to school today.  I’m happy for him because I know he looks forward to it.  He started 7th grade today, and is in advanced classes in almost every subject.  He’s a smart kid and his mother and I are both very proud of him.

I noticed, when I got home and got on my computer (I’m working from home today, my wife and I like for somebody to be available on the first day of school in case anything is needed) that he had posted “bye Summer 2010” on his Facebook page.  For some reason, this made me extremely sad (I’m still sad thinking about it as I write this).  I know he had a good time this summer.  This was the first year he was home by himself (I took 5 Mondays off this summer and his mother tele-works on Fridays, so most of the summer he was only on his own 3 days a week, most of which was spent at the pool with his friends), and I know he enjoyed that even if he was a little bored at times.  This was also the summer after his first season of playing baseball, and he made the decision that he wanted to be a serious ballplayer.  So, he and I have been running, lifting, and practicing all summer.  He’s really transformed himself as an athlete, and with the fall baseball season starting in less then 2 weeks we’re thinking he’s going to have a chance to really dominate.

I guess what’s really bothering me is knowing that each summer that passes for him is one less that he has in his childhood.  For those of you that have kids that are grown, you know what I mean.  As great a time as he and I are having doing things that he’s now old enough to do (sports, concerts, etc…) I’d give anything to just have him be little for one more day, to be able to pick him up and put him on my shoulders or have him climb up on my lap on the couch- don’t get me wrong, he’d still be happy to do any of these things now…but he’d put me in traction if he did- (okay, writing that put a smile on my face and definitely helped).

So, knowing that we can’t turn back time, I’m just going to go forward and be happy for him.  He’s a big, strong, good looking kid.  He’s very popular and has a lot of friends.  If he keeps going the way he is now, life will turn out well for him, and his mother and I are determined to make that happen.  I just hope he understands and realizes just how much we love him, and how it’s our job as his parents to protect him and make sure he grows up to realize his full potential.

We love you Evan, do your best!

One Response to “First day of school”

  1. keepthechange08 Says:

    First day of school went well. 179 to go.

Leave a comment